What is Cricket?

Cricket is a sport that involves a bowler who bowls the ball at the batsman who, with his bat, tries to play the ball accordingly so that he/she can score runs. The fielders must stop, catch or throw the ball, depending on what is required from the situation. There are two teams of eleven players that play against each other and whoever ends up with more runs at the end of the game wins. There are three main formats of the game: Test (Played over 5 days), One Day (50 overs a side) and T20 (20 overs a side). Obviously there are rules to how the game is conducted and played which you can find if you search them up on the internet or look for the ICC (International Cricket Council) and/or the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club) websites.

Firstly, you should know how the different formats work:

Test cricket is played over 5 days with each team having two innings (two chances to bat and bowl each). There are many different things to know about how it is played but we will cover that at a later date. One Day cricket is when each team plays one inning lasting 50 overs each. An over is when the bowler bowls six consecutive legal deliveries. T20 is when each team plays an inning lasting 20 overs each. For now, I will just explain how it would work in One Day cricket which can also be applied to T20, but we will leave Test Cricket for another time.

Before the game, the two captains will meet and toss a fair coin with one captain tossing it and the other calling heads or tails. Whoever wins the toss will choose whether to bat or bowl first. There are a number of things that can influence this decision such as the condition of the pitch, the weather, forecast, team's strength/weaknesses, etc. Whatever the winning captain elects to do is what they will do first. Once the toss is done the batting team will send

out there two opening batsmen, and the bowling team will pick one of their bowlers to bowl the first over.

The team bowling first will aim to restrict the batting team to a low score by taking wickets. A wicket is when a batsman gets out by being bowled (when the ball hits the stumps), caught (when anyone on the fielding team catches the ball hit by the batsman, without the ball bouncing before the fielder), stumped (when the batsman is out of their crease and the keeper knocks the bails off the stumps with the ball in their hands), run out (when a fielder hits the stumps before the batsman reached the crease), LBW (Leg Before Wicket: when the ball hits the batsman's pad first and is going on target to hit the stumps), or by any other means such as obstruction of the field or anything else which is seen as "illegal". There are also times when batsmen retire and come off the field due to fatigue or injury. This will not result in the loss of a wicket and the batsman can come back in at any time during their innings. The bowling side can change their bowler at any time (as long as its not during an over). If the bowling side gets all eleven batsman out, the batting team has been "bowled out" and will have to end their innings before being able to play their full 50 overs. If they are not bowled out, they will have continued playing until their 50 overs are up.

The team batting first will aim to score as many runs possible to try and make it harder for the team batting second (the team bowling first) to chase down. The batsmen can score runs by running between the wickets (running between both creases at each end of the pitch) or by hitting boundaries. Boundaries are when the batsman hits ball beyond the boundary rope. If the ball bounces before passing the rope, its four runs. If it doesn't bounce at all and goes past the rope, its six runs. If a batsman gets out, the next batsman will come in and so on until either the batting team is bowled out or the 50 overs is up.

The team batting second will aim to chase down the score posted by the other team. They will have to do this within the 50 overs they have and without losing all their wickets. The team bowling second will aim to stop the batting team from chasing down their score by taking wickets and/or restricting the flow of runs.

If the team that batted first defends their score and prevents the other team from chasing it down successfully, then they will have won the game by runs (e.g - the team batting first scores 316 runs and bowls the other team out for 298; they will have won by 18 runs).

If the team batting second chases down that score, then they will have won the game by wickets left in hand (e.g - the team that batted first scores 316 runs and the team batting second chases down that score and ends up with 317/4 [317 runs for the loss of 4 wickets], which means they won by 6 wickets because they still had 6 wickets left in hand).

Obviously, there are so many other things to cricket like the tactics, strategies, pitches, weather, teams, and so much more. But for now, we will leave it at this, and hopefully will discuss the game in more depth soon.

Thanks for reading and I hope this was of benefit to you.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram